(Founded 1996)
Green: Bowls Pavillion, Sands Road, Inkberrow, Worcs. WR7 4HJ
Location of Bowls Club: Find Me
Website: Website
Inkberrow Bowling Club
Approved Coloured Shirt: White
Club smoking policy: No Smoking in the club house, on the green or the surrounds
Email Contact:

[email protected]

President: David Willis Tel: 01386 792822

[email protected]

Mob: 07815 477276


Club Captain:




Rob Spencer

[email protected]








07816 076327


01789 612754


Mens' Captain John Bird Tel: 01386 791589

[email protected]

Mens Singles Champion: Richard Long Tel: 01527 404351

[email protected]

Mob: 07788 970207
Ladies Singles Champion: Lou reed Tel: 01386 462625

l[email protected]

Club Secretary:

Lynne Long

Tel: 01527 404351

l[email protected]

Fixture Secretary:

Bill Probert

Camden House
Orchard Mead
Tel: 01386 792697

[email protected]

Exec.Council Members David Willis

[email protected]

  Robert Spencer

[email protected]

The Clubs History:      

In May 1994 a village meeting decided that a bowling green was a desirable addition to the sports area in Inkberrow. A Committee was formed to consider location, feasibility and funding for the project. At that time, Wychavon District Council established a fund to assist development of amenities in villages.  A successful application was made for a pavilion to house 4 village groups; football, cricket, scouts and bowls.

The grant with Parish Council top-up, including the cost of laying the bowling green, that took place in 1995. The Club was accepted as affiliated to the County, as the youngest club in the County and this is still the case.

Building was completed in early 1996 and the opening ceremony by Councillor Gorgon Moone took place on May 27th 1996, this was followed by the opening game with a joint County Men’s/County Women’s team to recognise that the Club was a fully mixed club from the outset. Sadly the event was clouded by the death, shortly before, of John Tyrrell MBE, the man who chaired the project from the start to fruition.

Many members of the Club were new to bowling so that the 1996 season was very much a learning phase both for the bowling itself and all associated procedures. Membership was around 90 and the novelty brought out much enthusiasm to ensure the success of the Club.   The ‘bowls tea’ and green maintenance absorbed much of this enthusiasm.

Several friendly games were played in the first season, the opposition being gentle with us! Naturally maintenance of the green was a high priority and a group of willing but inexperienced members worked hard at this. Experience of the drought of 1995 made some form of irrigation system essential and this was installed with the help of an EBA interest free loan.

The year’s climax was out first annual dinner, prepared and served in the pavilion by a small but dedicated group of members. 1997 was a much busier year, Club competitions were organised and the Club were founder members of the Vale Triples League. Much of the green equipment was old, second hand or borrowed so fundraising was hotly pursued many members being very generous with loans.   The green was improving all the time and praised by visitors, except of course after prolonged rain, when it became very heavy.

A landmark was hosting a Ladies County match on the green.

In 1998 membership held steady, friendly games increased, as we become more widely known. The finances were such we could afford a professional green keeper to oversee winter preparation work. The lack of bar facilities was a drawback, this being due to the cub scouts having use of the pavilion, this was overcome eventually, and thus helped to boost the Club’s income.

In 2000 the Club initiated a new mixed triples league, the Interberga league, the name is the anglo saxon name for Inkberrow. The Club continues to develop, and membership has grown, in particular we are pleased we have four active junior members.

2004 saw the Club host a full County Match and the green was highly complimented for the playing surface.   One ambition we have – to progress further than the first round of the Vernon Turner Cup.


Updated 30th August 2021