Telford and Wrekin District Bowling Club

Club Address

Hartshill Park, Oakengates, Telford, TF2 6AN

Club Personnel

Kate Anderson Secretary

T: 01952 881162

E: [email protected]

Margaret Price President

T: 01952 595782

Roy Porter Club Captain

T: 01952 594503

Sue Porter Fixture Secretary

T: 01952 594503

Ian Harper Exec. Council Member 1

T: 01952 404464

Alan Heighway Exec. Council Member 2

T: 01952 414284

Club Bio

An inaugural meeting was held was held on 17th June 1982 at Stirchley, Telford which saw the founding of the Club with an enrolment of 57 members thus creating the first level green bowling Club in Shropshire. In the first year the membership included bowlers from Australia, South Africa, Eire and all the home nations.
One of the first tasks was to negotiate the provision of a green within the boundary of Telford and after prolonged discussion with Wrekin Council resulted in the conversion of a crown green in Hartshill Park, Oakengates, this was carried out in the spring of 1983.
In December of that year the Club was formally accepted into the Worcestershire Bowling Association as an affiliated member Club. In June and July 1984, the Clubhouse was built from fund raising and sports grants. Most of the work being carried out by members during the winter of 1984. In July 1985 the Club was officially opened by the Chairman of Telford & Wrekin Council, Lord Northfield, followed by a match against invited rinks from the Gilt Edge, Brintons, Chainwire, High Duty Alloys & St Martins (Hereford) and Welshpool Town (Powys) The Club is grateful to all the fore mentioned Clubs for all their support.
In 1997 Vic Blackshaw, the Worcestershire County President became the first President to bring his Executive team to Telford. Since our formation, we are proud to record that 8 of our members have played for Worcestershire County, of which, one member Graham Clark played in the County Middleton Cup team, and in 2003 Mike Hubbard won the Champion of Champions Singles competition. A great success for Mike and the Club.
Like all Clubs we lose members for various reasons and as a result membership has dwindled but with our present membership level green bowling will continue with the help of our friends, Lilleshall BC and St Michaels BC (affiliated to Hereford BA) in Shrewsbury. The founding of this Club in 1982 owes its existence to Colin J. Wormald to whom the Club will be forever grateful.

Year Founded1982
Approved Shirt ColourWhite Shirt with Blue collar and Blue and White Sleeves